The Resurrection Blog

Home » Notes » Weekend Followup (From September 8-9th)…

Weekend Followup (From September 8-9th)…

Buy Book Here

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

For a first time author event, I must say that I did not do as bad as I thought I would. From borrowing one of my best friends’ car, I took a half-hour drive to the E. Hartford Public library with nothing but brochures, business cards, and huge poster. I felt like I was not even prepared to make it over there on time. This also goes without mentioning that I did not even have the books that I ordered last Friday, which showed up sometime later in the day.

Just the day before that, I picked up the vehicle and used the last $50 in gas to fill up the sucker (it was an SUV), and the weather was raining cats and dogs.

This was going to be a disaster for sure.

When I thought everything else would fail, (including the fact that I did not have anyone show up for my schedule) two people had appeared for my hour long talk. Fortunately, the announcement in the Reminder had been quite helpful. As I delivered my speech, there was at least a decent amount of one on one time to manage and create some interpersonal discussion about the New Testament’s basis for belief. The best part of it was that I had been trying to explain the Gospel to an elderly gentleman who did not buy into the Faith.

Though my aim was not to persuade or pressure non-Christians into converting, I felt quite blessed by delivering the message on Day One.

Regarding Day Two, I returned to the library more prepared than usual. I felt pretty confident with the books that I purchased from create space showing up on time along with the table cloth and candies, there would be someone who would take notice of the information I was offering.

Sure enough I was right.

Throughout the entire morning, I had at least twenty different people stop by at check out the information booth, grab a brochure, business card, or candy and four at least to stay during the course of the event. The best part of that whole speech was discussing Roman Catholicism with a Catholic Conservative. Unfortunately, she did not listen to the entire course of the conversation…for she showed up when I was ready to wrap up the conversation and only heard me say that I believe her church departed from the Scriptures.

Nevertheless, I managed to sell one book at the event and a few more hereafter. The best part was the fact that I had a few folks show up instead of no one.

So much for a first time event.

Parker

7 Comments

  1. Ty Johnston says:

    That’s not bad for a first time. I think it helped you had something of interest to talk about other than simply selling a book, which I think is a problem for some first-timers.

  2. Ty Johnston says:

    Oh, I think your subject matter would be perfect for Christmas, and for Easter.

  3. Ty Johnston says:

    I’ve got one on my Kindle. Not sure how soon I’ll be able to get to it, though. I’m in the middle of a massive epic fantasy novel at the moment, and I’m not the fastest of readers. Probably before the end of the year, at least.

  4. I’m impressed, I must say. Really rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is outstanding; the issue is something that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

    • haparker321 says:

      Well I try my best to do something like that because I run into a lot of people who really have no clue about what makes Self-Publishing and they think good writing is a subjective experience. I have to say that I honestly disagree.

Leave a Reply

