The Resurrection Blog

Home » Notes » The Hambledown Dreams Review

The Hambledown Dreams Review

Buy Book Here

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Recently, I had the chance of receiving a copy of a book given to me by an Australian self-published author several months back. Although I was on intently giving him a thorough review of the book, I put the book off for a while until I managed to glance at the book when I landed in Milwaukee. Since then, I had very little time to get back to the author and share my review. Months had passed between both now and the time I was able to do the review; nonetheless, I remained true to my word even though I did not get an answer from the author himself.

Without the immediate feedback that has not come back, I decided to take the liberty of posting my review of his book both here and at the Kindle Boards website. It’s been a while since I have had the chance of doing an honest, not so positive review of someone’s work. Even though someone will attempt to contest the information I say in the review, nevertheless I hope whoever reads my review will see why I said the work is not as great as it is cut out to be.

Somehow, I still get the impression there will be an author who will find these words either amusing or offensive, no matter how honest one can be. Though I would love to imagine a person giving me no hassles about what I say about the book itself, I do not think anyone would seriously understand the reasons why I make the points out there in the first place.

Parker  

6 Comments

  1. KJ Kron says:

    I read recently that when authors get too many four and five star reviews, readers begin to doubt the sincerity of the reviewers. A bad review often doesn’t hurt – a ton of them would.

    With my book, a read a bad review which did make me grumble a bit as I thought the reviewer didn’t get my point – but the reviewer was honest and I appreciated that and wouldn’t dream of giving him a hard time about it. I guess I wouldn’t mind a bad review along the lines of – I don’t agree with the premise, but the writing is good.

    I know, I’m rambling. The main thing to keep in mind is to be honest. No one should hassle you for that – unless you are being unnecessarily brutal.

    • haparker321 says:

      I definitely agree and I am about ready to wrap up on your book critique. If you don’t mind, I would like to feature yours as the next review on the list. I hope that won’t get you upset or anything.

      Parker

  2. Dean Mayes says:

    I happened across your post here and I was intrigued to find out about your review.

    I am Dean Mayes, the author of The Hambledown Dream and I have to admit, I don’t recall us having any correspondence regarding a review of my novel – which is not to say that we haven’t – it’s just I can’t find any record of it.

    Never-the-less, I am always eager to receive feedback about my literary work and would be keen to read your thoughts about The Hambledown Dream.

    I should at this point, correct you on one small point. I am in fact not a self published author but am represented by Michelle Halket of ireadiwrite Publishing out of Vancouver.

    Thank you in advance for your thoughts regarding The Hambledown Dream.

    • haparker321 says:

      I do remember because you sent me an email, and I’m gla you are represented. Although I think the idea sounds great, I did not like the book simply because of the book’s execution and style. I’m a bit picky on that.

      Parker

      • Well I would be happy to see you expand on that in a review. I am more than open to reading your criticisms of the novel. It will be a helpful tool for me to improve my writing.

      • haparker321 says:

        Good, then you can check out what I said on your other comment.

        Parker

        P.S.
        I got the Princess Bride/Monty Python thought after I discovered your book had an annoying tone to it by reading the book out loud. 🙂

Leave a Reply

