The Resurrection Blog

Home » Notes » Grammatical Blunders

Grammatical Blunders

Buy Book Here

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

I am probably used to hearing from other authors about how ‘awful’ my grammar tends to be. To some extent, I think there is a grain of truth, but not enough to make my book not entirely readable. I have had constantly positive feedback on the book, despite the occasional references to the need to character development. If there was one thing that annoyed perhaps the book bloggers who actually read my book, I am sure that character development was one of them. 

Whenever someone attempts to ‘critique’ the style of my writing, I notice he or she does so because (a) they do not like the errors I point out and (b) I (allegedly) claim to have flawless writing qualities. The funny part about the whole thing is that I am already well aware of my grammatical blunders. Diction, order, and missing words are all part of my writing weaknesses, not to mention the occasional subject-verb agreement. The fact of the matter behind knowing all these things is to point out to a greater truth: authors need to study their crafts. If you are ever planning to write a book, article, or even a short story, no one is ever going to take interest in your book if the author does not take the time to invest into improving their writing. This can be said about the vast majorities of ‘Indie’ authors who think they’re famous the moment they hit the ‘submit’ button to have their books published.

 If selling books were that easy, then everyone would be Amazon Kindle millionaires. Unfortunately, these things don’t happen whenever you begin publishing books with little or no knowledge about the craft of writing. This is exactly where I am coming from as a critic.

I have spent time reading upon the topic of writing prior to receiving my bachelor’s in English. Did I think I would become a grammarian expert when I graduated college? I hardly understood the general mechanics of an essay. The moment I entered the field of English I realized I hardly knew anything that was barely worth mentioning. Why almost every time I had a paper done and submitted it for grading, oftentimes I would come back with a paper that riddled in pencil or ink with errors about word choice, subject-verb agreements, and wordiness. Sometimes these were due to the fact that I would ‘rush’ with the paper without taking the time to examine them, most of the time they weren’t.

While the teachers I had (back then) expected that I would find the errors out on my own, I realized that for each mistake that was obviously pointed out, I learned a greater deal about how the nature of writing worked. The greatest form of writing comes from the ability to communicate an argument well to the audience. If nothing is communicated properly, then no one will understand the message.

 

Parker

2 Comments

  1. John O'Brien says:

    Good point with regards to grammar, however, I believe that if you have a certain writing style or story-telling voice, then some grammar can be overlooked striving to keep that voice. I have a couple of reviews with regards to grammatical mistakes and am also well aware of the them even as they go down on the paper/screen. But, there is a voice and style I’m going for that the grammar purist will not like.

Leave a Reply

