The Resurrection Blog

Home » Notes » What Grammur Mesteakes?

What Grammur Mesteakes?

Buy Book Here

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

While I took the liberty of taking a decent one month vacation, I revisited my book for a second time to find all the major grammatical errors that occur in my work. Although I do take these concerns seriously as a writer, why I did not bother to go back and immediately review my book were because of two reasons: (1) these accusations could be false and (2) part of my policy implicates that the customer needs to show where these errors occurred. It is not very common for me to go back and correct errors, but having heard of a major plethora of ‘grammatical mishaps,’ I decided to go back and take a look.

Amongst the midst of ‘major mistakes’ that were pointed out, I found a majority of these problems contained the following mistakes: (1) awkward sentencing and (2) missing words or punctuation. With all the time I am taking to go back and edit these ‘serious errors’ I came to realize a few different things.

First, going back and correcting these mistakes can be tedious and tiresome, especially if there are more than just a ‘few’ of them.The second thing I realized (and something perhaps most critics don’t) is this, these errors are minor ones.

Did you get that?

I said these mistakes are minor mistakes, not major ones. If the entire manuscript contained spelling errors, indefinite pronouns, confused setting, cheesy character names, book titles, dialogues etc, then I would have something to worry over. However, the majority of these errors came from people who have actually read the book.

The other thing I noticed were the facts that a majority of these errors occurred in one chapter. Does that mean now that I’m a horrible, don’t deserve to be read type of writer?

Yeah, if these troubles occurred within the first 2,000 words. Could you imagine the kind of frustration, anger, and resentments readers get when the writing does not match up to their imaginations? I can.

Yet somehow, I managed to get these folks to turn the page.

If there is one last comment I would like to make before I end this post, it would be this: which would be more unsatisfying, finding a (grammatically correct) book that has cheesy characters, frustrating dialogue, and lame plot line or a (not so grammatically correct) book that gets you to turn the pages?

I think I’ll go with the latter one.

Parker

Leave a Reply

