The Resurrection Blog

Home » Notes » Discovering a New Genre

Discovering a New Genre

Buy Book Here

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

While I continue to read the novel, Lucifer’s Odyssey, a few thoughts came to mind. Usually when I read an author’s book, I tend to look for reasons NOT to read the book (ranging from poor introductions, grammar, setting, storyline etc.) and find something to comment on that is usually not so kind. Fortunately, this author passed my expectations with flying colors, writing his book with an original storyline and good execution. In fact, I would recommend the book to anyone looking for a clear-cut example of what I am looking for in a typical sense of fiction.

However, this post is not about providing accolades because of its work.

The reason why I am writing this post is because I think he has developed a new genre that is still in the making. Over the past few months, I noticed the tremendous amount of ‘takes’ authors tend to produce month after month in trying to reinvent Christianity, Stephanie Meyer style. While I tend to laugh at these kinds of things, I am beginning to realize something in common for those who stumble into this category of books.

Now that there is an ongoing plethora of these kinds of books, especially with this novel, I have finally coined a new term for this type of genre.

I call it: pseudo-biblical fiction.

Although I would like to use the label of ‘meta-biblical,’ the reason why I chose to use ‘pseudo’ instead is because there is a series of biblical and non-biblical reasoning to that fits the above term more snugly than the term ‘meta’ itself. In light of what I have said, I am continuing to read the book in hopes that the plot advances toward something intuitive, because the feel of the work comes off like I’m reading one of C.S. Lewis’s Screw-tape letters.

With thanks to this book, I now can explain the characteristics that would make this book and others similar to it fall into this category. Although I could go immediately into discussing the genre with this post, I’m afraid that by doing so would garner too space for an extra 1,000+ words. So instead, I think it would be best to reserve my comments for another post. Nevertheless, I will be continuing with reading the ongoing drama in Lucifer’s Odyssey.

Parker

 

6 Comments

  1. Rex Jameson says:

    I’ve really enjoyed our conversations in email. Just curious, would this not be a very old genre of book?

    You mentioned CS Lewis’s letters (1942). What about the Divine Comedy written back in 1308-1321? Do those not qualify as “pseudo-biblical fiction?” If not, why?

    Cheers!

    • haparker321 says:

      I am very glad that you enjoy these conversations, because I enjoy them also. Unfortunately, in order to receive an answer, you will have to wait until my next post.

      Concerning C.S. Lewis and Dante, I would not consider them in the genre of pseudo-biblical fiction for these predominant reasons: (1) they have a realistic story line e.g., Hell is a real world (Dante) or Demons not wanting people to become converted (Lewis) and (2) They do not have a anti-theological bent that seeks to satisfy its ideologies by coming up something warped.

      I hope this helps and you’re not turned off with my next post.

      Parker

  2. Rex Jameson says:

    About (2), do you mean “anti-theological” as it pertains to “opposing theology”, as in “opposing the study of God, or a god, or gods, and the truthfulness of religion in general?”

    If so, I’m sure we could have plenty to talk about–unless you would rather just say your piece and have it stand on its own without challenge. I’m not one to deny someone a new genre, but I’m most certainly OK with anyone and everyone studying God, or god, or gods, and the truthfulness of religion in general.

    Theology will always be important to mankind, and everyone should participate in a systematic study of religion and its influences, as well as the nature of religious truths.

    • haparker321 says:

      Well I mean ‘anti-theology’ as in opposing the promotion of theological viewpoints (e.g. Dawkins, Harris, and others). I am always open to discussing about these kinds of people who oppose religion.

      I do not believe you’re someone of that sort because of our many good conversations and if you want we can arrange some kind of debate.

      Parker

Leave a Reply

