The Resurrection Blog

Home » Notes » Pseudo-Biblical Fiction: What’s the Storyline?

Pseudo-Biblical Fiction: What’s the Storyline?

Buy Book Here

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

After wrapping up reading the book, Lucifer’s Odyssey, I have come to discover several observations that are worth sharing in this post. Like I mentioned before, I want to thank the author of this book for helping me coin and define the terms for this ongoing genre. Now that I can dedicate a post to this new phenomenon, let’s begin by asking the first question:

What is pseudo-biblical fiction?

Originally coming from the Greek word meaning ‘false,’ I decided to divide the term in combination with the words biblical and fiction for the mere reason that the book’s foundation lies on a phony demise. If one wanted to know how to spot this kind of demise, look no further than at the plotline. In most cases (from what I have experienced), a lot of these tales run by estranged ideas for example:

  • Jesus as an extraterrestrial
  • Jesus being biologically raised from the dead.
  • Lucifer and Michael being brothers.
  • Jesus as a Dog
  • Vampires in 33 A.D.
  • Jesus’ Genes
  • Jesus as Harry Potter
  • Jesus as reluctant Messiah

Though I could probably go on with an exhaustive list about the genre, I want to point out that much of these storylines deal with something that’s not true i.e., the false premises. In case one has not noticed, all these stories pose no realism. Jesus never came back as a dog. He isn’t an alien, a man, a fictional character and most definitely not a reluctant Messiah. If anything had to be said about this kind of genre, most of these ideas are totally false and (some) completely blasphemous.

The other thing I noticed with this genre is the use of the biblical characters in an unconventional setting. What do I mean by ‘unconventional’?  For starters practically none of these Bible characters ever had to face any of these dilemmas. Could Satan really ‘die’? Do the Apostles need to ward off vampires? There seems to be this ongoing assumption that authors of this genre have a pass to trample over the traditional Christian teaching, as if their own makings of Jesus, David, or any other Bible character in any kind of shape they want.

Though I would personally like to maintain neutrality to their ideals, however, the plethora of these ridiculous ideas forces me to reconsider and address the absurdity of these fictional tales. Not only are some of these ideas teaching a phony and false ideology, but also hints on the idea that the author engages in idolatry.

What’s there to complain about, it’s only fiction?

Wrong.

Seriously, that is dead wrong.

Although I do not intend on insulting the name of good fiction, most writers I have spoken to have this interest in wanting to influence readers with their influences without question. Although I admire their tenacity, I would often find myself wondering whether these authors actually care to research the issue or are they wanting their audiences to believe there is an authoritative stance to their ideals.

To put this is in short; let me summarize the pseudo-biblical genre characters in list format:

  • Anti-Christian in nature
  • Bible characters in unconventional settings
  • Unrealistic Storyline
  • Engaged in either idolatry or blasphemy

Parker

6 Comments

  1. Rex Jameson says:

    Thank you for reading the book. I know it’s your normal habit to only read the first five chapters or less. We’ve discussed this before at length in emails and on Kindleboards, and I’m quite frankly flattered that you made it all the way through the novel. Not everyone does. So, thanks for reading.

    I would like to point out that there is no reason to thank me for coining the terms and phrases that you’ve used in this post. None of these words are mine. These are yours.

    “Jesus as a dog” and “Anti-christian”? Those words and phrases are meant to enrage the reader and, if they are Christian, make them feel they are under attack. As far as I know, no author you are attempting to place in your new genre (which btw, reflects your book since you are biologically resurrecting Biblical characters in an unconventional setting…) has ever used such inflammatory phrases or actions.

    Here’s the reality of the Primal Patterns series: it’s fiction. Namely, it’s fiction that expounds upon the current position of the Catholic Church on God’s role in evolution:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Catholic_Church_and_evolution

    The series uses modern quantum physics concepts like wave particle duality, superposition, multiverses, and Einstein-Rosen-like bridges to a nearly-infinite energy source (another dimension which also serves as a primal projector for dualities and superpositions) for creation or destruction events. It combines Christian concepts with black holes, quasars, and the scientific observations we’ve made about the speed of light, the distances God and the angels will have to traverse both with quantum physics constructs and without (e.g., through the specialized non-feathered wings that allow inter-universal travel) to reach Earth from their work in the other 350+ billion galaxies in the known universe–places filled with billions of trillions of stars. Billions of trillions!

    The series is not about being anti-Christian. It’s about combining physics and scientific observations with Biblical characters so the state of the universe can be explained in a fictitious way (Lucifer’s Odyssey is not a canon, nor is it intended to ever be one), that hopefully creates a fun, unusual drama. It’s about asking questions, and it’s a part of my own spiritual journey.

    There’s no reason why Christianity in the U.S. should be at war with science, just as the Catholic Church sees no reason to fight science either. The reason for this is very simple: science doesn’t disprove God anymore than anything else does. Science is simply about discovery–not being anti-Christian.

    According to the position of the Catholic Church, neither evolution nor the geologic or celestial records disprove anything in the Bible. In fact, it makes what God has done seem so much more impressive. A being dozens of billions of years old (at least) that has guided the development of planets after allowing hydrogen to coalesce through gravity into super-stars that go hypernova and then supernova after newer, smaller stars reform to create heavier elements? Over hundreds of millions or billions of years? And these heavier elements combine in various chemical and biological ways to induce the creation of new compounds, that form DNA strands and actively mutate in the wild as we’ve seen viruses and diseases do in labs and in the real-world? Over billions of years? And this God may have sent an asteroid from 70 light years away to hit a planet at a specific time to discourage one of the evolutionary outcomes and promote another one in the development of human beings?

    Wow. As a scientist, I’m impressed. I can’t disprove any of it. I can be skeptical, but I can’t disprove it. And it doesn’t conflict with what we can observe in the universe. I think that’s pretty awesome!

    Anyway, once again, thanks for reading the book. The sequel is coming out soon, and if readers want to dive into this kind of multiverse they can join me there. Also, any reader with any question or comment whatsoever, can email me at rexjameson at gmail.com–even if it’s insulting (I’ve received my fair share). I may play devil’s advocate with you, as I did with Parker here, to see where you are at on your spiritual journey, but I will do my utmost to respect your opinions and thoughts. Have a wonderful weekend. Cheers!

    • haparker321 says:

      Wow, I feel like I’m writing a book whenever I correspond with you (that’s a good thing)!

      You’re right in the sense that I take up to five chapters or less, but yours has gotten me past that, which is the point when you’re writing a book. The ultimate picture here is to get the reader to turn the page and make it beyond five chapters.

      I did think about what I was saying and how my novel can easily fall into the category of pseudo-biblical genre, and you’re right about that. I don’t know if I addressed the issue carefully, but I did try to discuss the issue.

      Well in the Catholic Church, there are a multitude of things I don’t agree with; hence, my reformed position.

      Your book has an interesting tinge to the idea altogether with your take of Catholicism and Science; however, as I mentioned before, I had some difficulty finding that hint. If you want, you can try to cite some pages and I’ll re-examine the book.

      Christianity is not at war with the practices of science; however, it is when it comes to materialistic/humanistic philosophy. Big difference. When it comes to the Catholic Church, there are plenty of things that fall under subjective interpretation.

  2. Wow. I’ve never read (or heard of) pseudo-biblical fiction. Yikes. I can’t say I’m on board with it, but as I said, I haven’t read it before. Thank you for the thorough treatment you gave it!

  3. […] T: I like that yourself and David McAfee have both been listed on a review of your book. Apparently you’ve created a genre for Christians to get riled up about. […]

Leave a Reply

