The Resurrection Blog

Home » Notes » So, How Did YOU Come up With These Characters?

So, How Did YOU Come up With These Characters?

Buy Book Here

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Characters so to speak, are a tricky element in writing that needs good development; they will either stand tall or fall flat. Unfortunately, too many of self-published writers fall with this trap of creating characters that not realistic or to some extent downright boring. Personally, I think a lot of this can be shaped up when an author begins developing his or her characters through personal experiences. Although my memory does not serve me well with ‘flashback’ of differing individuals I saw in unconventional settings, they do when I make acquaintances with the people who impress me personally. Usually, they come off as classmates, roommates, or eve co-workers who may come with a package of observable quirks that either irk or fascinate me. Bow-legged walking, nail-biting, flamboyant polo shirts, etc. all come from real people I have met or came into contact with over the course of time.

And you know what? These quirky experiences are reusable.

While I do not impress these people into my books entirely, I do make use of them when I form hybrids with other people so that all my characters can be people of their own, although I create them to have some similarity. Some of these characters have physical features from the acquaintances I make over time, but have different personalities that allow me to use them well or hybrid them with someone else I know. Usually, these types of hybrids can be used again elsewhere for other book uses.

I do not think I am truly original with this ideal concept; in fact, I think one of the authors I did a review here on this site has done something similarly. I would highly recommend anyone who wants to grab an idea with book writing ought to look to her as a model example for character inspiration. If there’s one thing I would suggest authors should do to develop more character is to observe friends and have lots of acquaintances, especially ones that DO NOT SHARE YOUR IDEALS. Pay attention to the last part; good characters usually come from those kinds of acquaintances, not because you may not like them, but also because these individuals have something to offer for your benefit: a new perspective.

Parker

Leave a Reply

