The Resurrection Blog

Home » Notes » Me and Cousin ‘IT’

Me and Cousin ‘IT’

Buy Book Here

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

On the many subjects that tend to irk me to end is whenever some sprinkles just a little too much of ‘IT.’ I am not sure what is in ‘IT’ that makes people feel extremely special, but let me tell you something, I find ‘IT’ horribly annoying if I find this indefinite pronoun without knowing exactly what the author is referring to. In this post, I was trying to be somewhat humorous with the title, especially upon the reference to the hairy monster from the Adam’s Family a.k.a. cousin ‘IT.’

Yes, in some ways I think ‘IT’ is a cute creature, especially when it scurries around in the Adam’s family mansion squeaking here and there over certain things. I can tell you sometimes you are left wondering what exactly he is talking about. I can express the same feelings toward authors who pepper their manuscripts with the pronoun expecting everyone to understand what he or she talks about in the manuscript. For most cases, I rarely try to follow along with the book; instead, I take my black pen and circle the amount of times a person uses the phrase in a single page. The last novel I read, I remembered counting so many uses of the pronoun ‘IT’ that I lost count after the number fifty-five.

For some strange reason, authors expect audiences to believe they should not be criticized for not fixing these problems, but I tend to wonder what would their expectations are for the readers they sell the books to, do they think the audience will not notice? While I may come off as just rambling in front of the audience, I am trying my best to get authors to understand that readers need a concise path to understand what you are talking about in books whether these writings consist of a miniature collection of plays and poems or are part of a complete novel.

If you do not make the story clear, how else are readers to put up with the work?

Parker

Leave a Reply

