The Resurrection Blog

Home » Notes » Black Coke: Final Touches

Black Coke: Final Touches

Buy Book Here

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Now that I finished reading the book Black Coke, I have a couple of finite touches upon the subject. While I wrote over a million words to describe how good the writing is, I think there are a couple of finite touches that may have been overlooked while I was writing. The first starts off with the need to address the concerns with the book’s length. Normally, a book of 500+ pages are not something I would typically read and praise; there were some parts where I think could have been shortened a little that may not necessarily remove the novel’s effect. If the book was not fast paced, I am quite certain the book would have been quite a drag.

Second, I want to make mention of the fact that there were some techniques in the novel that I would normally dock individuals on because of its intended effects. For instances, much of the action scenes had very short sentences and endings for the novel. Certainly, I would not easily let individuals get away with that unless I knew what the intentions were. Since this novel is a natural thriller, I am quite certain that these styles are done so to give off a deliberate ‘intensity’ effect for the reader (which is something I experienced).

Apart I found some scenes with sexual innuendo, high profanity, and (just one perhaps) spelling error, I think the book is an excellent work. Even though I am a Christian, I would not be the one who would not expectant to find a thriller with these elements. Personally, I think this would be another book to movie novel that is worth a second glance/read. I also managed to find a copy of the author’s second novel, “The Somali Doctrine.”

I hope to find more authors like his to be out there.

Parker

Leave a Reply

