The Resurrection Blog

Home » Notes » Why Some Books DON’T Get Read.

Why Some Books DON’T Get Read.

Buy Book Here

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Sometimes I would like to imagine myself giving every author I meet a five-star review, each and every time I run into one. I would love to say things like “hey, that’s a good thriller” or “you better keep your eyes on that one” for a review. Were I to say those kinds of words, I am sure I would not have people getting angry with the idea and more books would be sold under this pen name than anything before. I am sure everyone would want me as their reviewer and that no one would say anything of the sort.

Unfortunately, that is not reality.

If readers tell you what they think of their works, they tell you what they think. In so many words, I can probably give two of the biggest reasons why most books do not get read. The first reason comes from what happens on the outside of the book i.e., the cover, synopsis, blurb, etc. You cannot expect anyone to have a desire to read someone’s book if the book doesn’t possess pizzazz throughout the exterior. I have learned this lesson when I entered the Self-Published contest at the beginning of the year.

The other reason no one (including myself) would take your work seriously is because what happens on the inside i.e., the grammatical errors, redundancy, clichés, poor formatting, etc. Who wants to spend a gross amount of time reading a book with a gross amount of problems in someone else’s work? I may not be perfect in my style of writing, but I am certain of this: these problems weigh these readers down.

Out of the multiple errors I find even in my own writings, I can assure you that the moment these are taken care of, the writer will feel more confident that his or her audience will not find a reason not to read the book.

Parker

Leave a Reply

