The Resurrection Blog

Home » Notes » On Traditional Christian Fiction

On Traditional Christian Fiction

Buy Book Here

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

While I gain further traction in the publishing world because of my Christian faith and my worldviews, I tend to notice that most of these problems come from the ideas of what already established Christian writers have established in the traditional market. Surprisingly, I am not of those kinds of stripes and with good reason. Though I do consider myself a Christian fiction writer, my writings are not of the traditional sort.

One of those reasons why I do not go on with the idea of traditional Christian fiction is mostly because I think a couple of existing problems with the forms of its chief motives. Although I believe all Christian writings are to glorify God, I am not in the agreement that my writings ought to be used to ‘convert’ the sinner. The responsibility to make those conversions possible comes from no other person than God himself; however, I am not afraid of subjecting any of my writings, comments, mistakes, etc. to point the sinner in the right direction.

If Christian fiction is to have its basis on the premise that our Lord would not be pleased with using them to convert the sinner, then certainly most readers will want little or nothing to do with the writings. Sadly, that is one of the few reasons why non-Christian reviewers would have very little interest in reading something of the sort. They take a view on the fictional genre the same way I would; namely, that the books are no different except that they are elongated pieces of gospel tracts for the non-Christian.

Parker

4 Comments

  1. ME Brines says:

    Nobody enjoys propaganda [pieces even if they agree with the point of view. “Christian” fiction never converts anybody because the unsaved won’t read it – half the Christians aren’t interested in it. Labeling a good story “Christian” fiction is the kiss of death – not because sinners hate Christians but because intelligent people recognize propaganda when they see it. Preaching is never as interesting than a good story well told – and any minister will tell you that. What else are Christ’s parables?

    • haparker321 says:

      Christ’s parables are not ‘propaganda’ as you put it because they were used to illustrate a major point. The reason why I stray from the ‘traditional’ Christian fiction is because of those reasons you specify.

      As a Christian fiction writer, I am not interested in ‘converting’ the unsaved; rather, I am interested in raising a point which may address salvation as a topic or a problem within the church. In the book I wrote, I am pointing out major problems in the church and within Atheism with the use of the N.T. writers.

      The main reason I use these guys is to illustrate a greater point, even if we had these writers affirming a series of doctrinal truths, I think the modern church will be either appalled or horrified to hear what they’d say.

      Parker

      • ME Brines says:

        You missed my point. Christ’s parables are not Christian fiction. They’re an interesting story well-told. Most Christian fiction is propaganda, as much as anything the Soviets or a cult would put out: cardboard stereotype characters, predictable plots, the Church is always good, non-Christians always bad, never deals with any grey issues. Christians never doubt. The point is always to get the unbeliever to believe. I may agree with the worldview but I don’t find pablum interesting. In the Gospels the disciples doubt, unbelievers don’t always convert and Christians don’t always act like they should. That’s realistic and that’s interesting. Most Christian fiction is neither. CS Lewis could not get published by a “Christian” publisher if he started today because he didn’t write “Christian” fiction – he wrote good stories that had a Christian worldview. That’s what I like and that’s what I write.
        http://www.MEBrines.com

  2. haparker321 says:

    I don’t think I meant parables as ‘Christian fiction’ like in a literary (novel) sense; rather, I was trying to represent your view more accurately. None of the parables have portrayed the church as always good; they have to deal with personal conversions and inheriting eternal life.

    I am working on an article which address your concerns; in fact, the quote ‘Christians don’t like they should’ is one of the reasons I’m writing another one (in between the series) that deals with Christians cliques.

    Parker

Leave a Reply

