The Resurrection Blog

Home » Notes » What’s Expected of My Reviews?

What’s Expected of My Reviews?

Buy Book Here

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other subscribers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other subscribers

I have noticed there have been some viewers recently who think that my review possesses no credential or honesty and definitely not worth looking at. Most of these authors who complain about this site do so because of the crude, sarcastic, and insulting comments I have made in the past. To be honest, the only reason I have said those thing is because these are responses from a reader’s perspective i.e., an evaluation based on the first few things that come to mind.

I am well aware that there are some things in a work of writing that are subject to taste, but let’s not get carried away with this attitude to give any crappy author an excuse to continue promoting their work. Some things do need to adhere to a standard and style is one of them.

Most readers anticipate that you (the writer) have already went through the efforts of reading, drafting, and re-writing not to mention researching to improve your work at least a dozen times to the point where it comes close to nearly perfect and almost anyone enjoys it. Having said that, I think that if you choose to publish either by traditional or self publishing, I am a firm believer that your writing will come under higher scrutiny because your writing must adhere to the reader’s standards and tastes.

Keep in mind that the author is not writing for himself, but he caters to the needs, feelings, and concerns for the reader. Why else write a book? If they want a bang for their buck, they can always buy a book that’s worth .99 cents, but I can guarantee you that if the readers feel cheated, they won’t say anything good about it or, have the work deleted.

Believe me, bad reviews are not what’s wanted.

If I find your novel, short story, play, or any collection of poetry frustrating due to grammar, style, rhythm, formatting, structural errors etc., what makes anyone think that the reader would not think the same?

I know I’m not a perfectionist with grammar or word choice; however, I believe I have an eye and good taste for  innovation and that’s not an easy thing to come by.

Hopefully with that being said, one can understand the nature of my criticism.

Parker


Leave a comment