The Resurrection Blog

Home » Notes » Black Coke: What I Really Love

Black Coke: What I Really Love

Buy Book Here

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other subscribers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other subscribers

 

Now that I am done with nearly a 1,100 word blog rant, let me focus on something that is a little more exhilarating than the last few posts. I am trying to be more upbeat with the things that befall me throughout the adventures of being a self-published writer and the problems that come from reading other authors. Although I am apt to bemoan, bewail, and belittle other writers, I feel the need to pull someone from the same field and include that writer as a modest example.

Fortunately, I did not have to go far to find him. In fact, while I kept browsing through Smash-Words, I managed to find his book. It’s called ‘Black Coke.’ Though I have not heard of the title before (something fairly unique), I do think this book serves as a great example for the self-published writer. Like most other writers out there, this book is not perfect per se i.e., free from grammatical and punctual mistakes; there was a small handful of errors (one or two). Sometimes I think the endings were too short, but I can dismiss that for only one reason: it’s action-paced.

However, the characters are easily identifiable and are interesting to follow. The beginning has me warped into trying to follow through this psychotic butcher (Amonite) and a field agent (Nathan). Even with the plot driven, action filled, and short paced dialogues that occur as elements to the book, I will argue that the novel does a tremendous job in keeping my interest by exposing me to something that I have never heard of before: Black Cocaine. I did a quick search on the term and it turned out that the author was using a real reference to a toxic chemical.

Even though I am about 27% of the way through the book (about 140 pages), I feel extremely warped into the plot. I hardly recognized the amount of time I have spent reading something like this. Nevertheless, I will continue to keep everyone posted about what happens next in the dialogue.

Parker

 


Leave a comment